sugar space


Update from Artist in Residence Monica Campbell
September 10, 2009, 5:03 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

September 9, 09

I can’t believe the show date is finally upon us!  It has been an interesting process; this piece has many more sections than I usually create for one piece.  Because of this, I never had my full cast together until the end of the process when we worked the final section.  I wish now that I would have had more time with all of my dancers in one room.  They are a crazy and inspirational bunch!

They are also very good sports.  Initially, I don’t think they realized that dancing with a set piece meant lugging that heavy mess around for every rehearsal, getting bruised as they learned to work with it, and getting used to the unpredictability that can be present when working with a structure.  Add to that the fact that I took quite a small performance space and made it smaller by adding a structure in the middle, then insisted on extremely large movement.  They may secretly hate me a little!  🙂  It was wonderful to see them work together and make it happen.
Final dress rehearsal is tomorrow.  I’ll keep you posted…………….
Monica Campbell
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

